The Stew


“Elisha said, “Get some flour.” He put it into the pot and said, “Serve it to the people to eat.” And there was nothing harmful in the pot.” 2 Kings 4:41 NIV

In a time of famine, God told Elisha how to care for the prophets. He gave his servants instructions.  However, one of them thought they needed to add a little flavor to the stew.  They ventured outside of the instruction God had given.  It became a pot of death!

Just like Elisha, we are to care for each other with the resources available. God will provide us the “meal” that sets things right and makes them palatable for us. And when the first fruits come, we are to share.  Do not look at the amount.  Simply share.

How often do we venture outside of God’s instruction in our own lives?  I know I do.  I think of something that seems like a good idea at the time.  I throw it into the mix without prayerful consideration.  It takes me down a path that God did not intend.  Suddenly things may come to a screeching halt! But sometimes that is what it takes for God to get my attention.

Then, just like God did for Elisha, he gives me the correction.  A little “flour” to add to the mix to settle down the chaos that I invited.  God adds His own flavor at the right time and with the right ingredients to the mix of my life.  I just have to trust Him.

Lord, thank you for giving me Your instruction, as well as Your correction, when I mess up Your recipe for my life.  Thank you for Your favor and flavor! Teach me to follow Your instructions in every detail without adding or subtracting a thing.

2 Kings 4:38-41, 42-44

Leave a Reply

