What Do You Have In Your House?


 Elisha replied to her, “How can I help you? Tell me, what do you have in your house?” “Your servant has nothing there at all,” she said, “except a small jar of olive oil.” 2 Kings 4:2 NIV

This is such an incredible story.  The widow of a prophet came asking for help. Elisha asked what she had.  Then he multiplied it so many times that she could pay all her debts, save her home, save her children, AND continue to live off her earnings.

This gave me pause.  What do I have in my own house? Our God is a God of miracles.  He is a God of multiplication. He will provide a path and generate provision. Do I limit Him in my own mind? Do I think too small? Do I hold on to anything so tightly that he can’t multiply it?

God, help me let go. Show me what I have in my house to offer up to you.  Help me bring it all to you and be willing to make that leap of faith to get all the containers I can muster!  Breathe on all I have Lord so that it may glorify You, Your might and Your power. I want to bring every care and every concern to You.

2 Kings 4:1-7

Leave a Reply

