Beautiful Surrender

Embed from Getty Images
So then, any of you who does not forsake (renounce, surrender claim to, give up, say good-bye to) all that he has cannot be My disciple. Luke 14:33 AMP

I woke up one morning longing to sit in prayer.  It had been a few days and I had not been carving time out of my schedule for it. There was a lot swirling around at the time.  I just needed to pause.

During that time I found so many things to be thankful for in the midst of the swirling. I gave thanks for God’s help. His support. His encouragement. His Provision. His Love. I thanked Him for the communities that He had placed me in. I thanked Him for all the changes happening around me. Lots of change was happening and it was all good! I was learning a lot. Stretching. Growing. I knew He was in the middle of it all.

As I realized that, it made me feel so safe and secure. It helped me realize that I needed to learn and practice releasing things to Him. He was teaching me to let go and operate from that place of surrender. The words from the old hymn by Judson Van DeVenter came to mind. In all the times I had heard the words, I had never really lived them until now:

“All to Jesus I surrender, all to Him I freely give

I will ever love and trust Him, in His presence daily live.

I surrender all, I surrender all; all to thee, my blessed Savior, I surrender all

All to Jesus I surrender, humbly at his feet I bow,

Worldly pleasures all forsaken, take me Jesus, take me now

All to Jesus I surrender, make me Savior wholly thine

Fill me with they love and power, truly know that thou art mine

All to Jesus I surrender, Lord I give myself to thee,

Fill me wit they love and power, let thy blessing fall on me

All to Jesus I surrender, now I feel the sacred flame

O the joy of full salvation! Glory, glory to His name!”

Lord, I surrender all.

Luke 14:27-35, James 4:10

Leave a Reply

