A Gift

Embed from Getty Images
“All of this is a gift from our Creator God, who has pursued us and brought us into a restored and healthy relationship with Him through the Anointed. And He has given us the same mission, the ministry of reconciliation, to bring others back to Him.” 2 Corinthians 5:18 The Voice

What is “all of this?” God has gifted us with the Holy Spirit  as a pledge toward our permanent home in heaven.  Much like the rainbow was God’s covenant to never destroy all life again by flood, His Holy Spirit reminds us that there is so much more than what we see in the present.  Here in our temporary physical body we crave that eternal spiritual body that awaits us. As we practice walking in faith it feels uncomfortable to our physical mind and body.  We are walking in the unseen versus the physical world of the present.  It is a stretch to fully realize the portion of faith that God has deposited in each of us.  It does not come without pain and discomfort.  Growth requires discomfort.  Maturity requires growth.

Sometimes when I stretch into this unseen faith walk, I step out too far.  I get ahead of God.  But I’m learning!  Just like anything else, I don’t get everything right the first time.  However, with practice, meditating on God’s Word and diligent prayer, I am learning His ways.  And His ways are definitely different than what is familiar to me.

I have to confess, it is an easier road to travel on.  It simply requires that I trust His promises.  I have to trust He is who He says He is, that He will do what He says He will do, and that I am who He says I am. It requires that I practice faith by putting it into action daily. It is simply a gift to receive and believe.

Lord, thank you for your gift of the Holy Spirit to guide us in our walk of faith on this earth.  Thank you for not leaving us without this constant companion you have provided.  Our Comforter and Intercessor.  Help us remember to treasure it daily!

2 Corinthians 5:1-10, Genesis 9: 1-17, Numbers 23:19, Proverbs 4:20-22, James 1:22

2 thoughts on “A Gift

Leave a Reply

