What Is My Egypt?


1“Woe to the obstinate children,” declares the Lord, “to those who carry out plans that are not mine, forming an alliance, but not by my Spirit, heaping sin upon sin; who go down to Egypt without  consulting me; who look for help to Pharaoh’s protection, to Egypt’s shade for refuge.” Isaiah 30:1-2 NIV

When my faith is tested, what is my Egypt? Where is the comfortable place that I return to that delays me and keeps me from stepping forward in faith? In Egypt, we sweat and toil to generate the outcome we want.  In the Promised Land, obedience is all that matters. Do I diligently inquire of God what He desires me to pursue? Or do I think I have it all figured out?

I know that I am in Egypt when fear sets in. I begin to rely on my own power and not wait for God. Sometimes I forget to look for God at all. I have noticed this pattern.  I can feel the difference of God’s hand in my life, moving things forward on my behalf in His great care, when I stop trying to do it all alone.  When I step out of that fearful place and step into faith.

It’s so simple.  It’s not about outcome.  It is simply about seeking God’s direction, listening/waiting, and then doing what He tells me to do. Not thinking about it. Not holding onto it for discussion and debate.  It is simply a matter of obedience.  In that place I find joy.  I can delight in Jesus. It is a reboot.

Father, keep my eyes focused on Your promises and not on what is comfortable and within reach.  Father, help me stretch into what You have designed me to be. Do not let fear hold me back in any way. Fill me with confidence in You for all things.

Psalm 27:14, Deuteronomy 6:5-7

Leave a Reply

