The Hunt


8 Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. 9 Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that your brothers throughout the world are undergoing the same kind of sufferings. 1 Peter 5:8-9 NIV

This scripture made me curious about how lions hunt.  My thought is this: if Satan hunts like a lion, then I can gain a better understanding of his tactics.  Here’s what I learned:

Lions prefer to scavenge, animals either dead by natural causes or killed by other predators. This really made me stop and think.  How do we put ourselves in harm’s way to make ourselves easy prey? Many times the things we attribute to Satan are really internal battles with our own flesh.  I must prayerfully consider what things I am responsible for that cause my own grief and suffering.

Lions typically work in a group, choose their prey, and then circle a herd. Then they reach for the closest prey. If I examine my life, am I engaged in anything that makes me easy prey? Maybe I obsess over things or people, worry too much, or idolize someone or something.  Maybe I can’t let go of what I see in front of me to trust God.  It keeps me stuck where I am instead of moving forward.

Lions don’t have a lot of stamina.  They take advantage of factors that reduce visibility, like some form of cover or darkness of night.  They sneak up on their victim until it is in close range. Then they finish with a fast rush and a final leap.  If this is true of the enemy, I need to pay attention to my surroundings. If I walk in the light, I am less likely to be attacked. Is there anything else in my life that the enemy can use for cover to get within close range to me undetected?

Lions typically kill by strangulation or suffocation. I found this very interesting. What are the things in my life that choke out love, joy, peace, patience, kindheartedness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control?  If something is choking or strangling these things in my life, it is like suffocation spiritually. The fruits of the spirit build us up and make us strong. They are spiritual vitamins and God’s Word and prayer are like water and oxygen.

Father, thank you for revealing tactics of the enemy. Thank you for victory in Christ.  Thank you for giving us the tools, power and authority to defeat him in this world by not being of this world. I pray we stay tucked into You.

Titus 2:11-13, Galatians 5

2 thoughts on “The Hunt

  1. Doesn’t the Bible have the most interesting correlations? God uses so many worldly examples, with layers of knowledge for us to chew on. Thanks for making this great lesson apparent. What an amazing creator God we have,

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

