Do As I Am Told


“The Sovereign Lord has opened my ears; I have not been rebellious, I have not turned away.” Isaiah 50:5 NIV

There are mornings that I sit in prayer and realize that walking by the spirit can be very easy if I am obedient.  If I don’t have to wrestle with every little thing that God asks of me.  It’s generally a whole lot easier to just do it than to (1) argue about it, (2) delay it, (3) try to negotiate it (which never works out anyway), or (4) flat out disobey. All four have their consequences.  I am thankful for His grace because I have tried them all!

God holds the master plan for all mankind.  I have to remind myself sometimes when He gives me a “to do” list that it is not just about me.  He has a purpose and design that touches and engages every single person on earth.  How arrogant it is of me to think that I get to pick and choose which thing I want to do!

So if I really love God, I know that I am called according to His purpose.  I want to walk alongside Him and bask in His love, knowledge, power and presence.  I can only do that if I am willing to come with a pliable and submitted heart.

Father, help me do what you ask of me daily with a joyful heart.

John 10:10, James 4:7, Hebrews 2:18, Proverbs 3:26, Romans 8:28, Psalm 119:71

Leave a Reply

