Let Me See It!


18 “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. 19 See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 43:18-19 NIV

As I was reading this verse I thought of a child waiting to view something new and exciting in the hands of their parents.  I can hear the screams of excitement, “Let me see it! Let me see it!” Many times the reason the parent is holding onto the item is because it’s very valuable, complicated beyond their understanding, or very fragile and easily broken. Like a puppy, an electronic device or toy, or an infant. As parents we have to teach little ones how to treat things (and people) with care. Knowing when to be gentle and when to handle something with great care and respect.

As God is making a way for us, how many times do we rush in expecting to grab hold of it all at once? We don’t see where we need to be careful or handle His new way with care.  Sometimes we are more anxious to get our hands on it than to wait and listen for His handling instructions. He knows when we are ready and He knows when we aren’t. We have to trust that He is making a way for us in the wilderness and providing streams in the wasteland. We have to be patient and seek His guidance.  And as we learn and grow, celebrate the journey!  See all the wonderful provision along the way.  Give thanks, even in the small things.  They demonstrate the level of detail that He engages in our lives.

This may sound silly, but I was on a walk with a dear friend one day.  We were walking through a beautiful subdivision set on a golf course.  All the ponds and fountains were along the cart path and we couldn’t see them from the road.  I said out loud “I would really love to find the cart path so that we can walk around the most beautiful part.” We were caught up in conversation and I realized a short time later I was lost.  I was in a new section that was unfamiliar.  We had a good laugh (because this happens often). I generally knew the direction we should be headed and boom! We were on a cart path.  We followed it around to the other side, wandering around springs, fountains, over bridges and found our way home. It was peaceful and gorgeous. It was exactly what I had been hoping for! For me, it was like a little kiss from God.  I believe He heard me. He let me see it.

Father, thank you for teaching us to handle Your purpose for our lives with great care.  Thank you for the surprises and delights you put in our paths; Your care with each detail.  Give us eyes to see each one and give thanks!

Proverbs 24:16, Philippians 1:6, 2 Timothy 2:16-17

Leave a Reply

