The Struggle

Embed from Getty Images
Then the man said, “Your name will no longer be Jacob, but Israel, because you have struggled with God and with humans and have overcome.” Genesis 32:28 NIV

I sat down for prayer one morning and it became a little messy and awkward as both my cat and my dog jumped in the chair with me.  They both wanted attention at the same time. As I watched them, my heart melted. They are innocents. They want comfort and affection; attention. They find it with me. They trust me. Sometimes they get startled and afraid. That can create a mess. I just wondered about us – mankind.  What does it look like when God looks at us? My pets are totally dependent on me for care. I don’t want to entrust them to someone that may not care for them well. How much more care than that do we receive from God! And yes, I can be a mess and awkward myself sometimes.

I don’t want to pretend that I can do this life on my own. I need God. I want to live a life that depends on Him. Anything else is burdensome; a struggle. I don’t want to pretend to be tough and take it all on by myself. I just don’t have the desire to do it any other way anymore.

O God, You are my Jehovah—my protector, my provider, my rock and my foundation. I pray that I look to You for all things, Father. I pray that I listen and hear You clearly and do what You ask.

Genesis 32:23-26, 28; Revelation 1:18

Leave a Reply

