I Can Relate

Embed from Getty Images
Then Peter remembered the word Jesus had spoken: “Before the rooster crows, you will disown me three times.” And he went outside and wept bitterly. Matthew 26:75 NIV

I am so thankful for Peter’s story. I see so much of myself in some of his acting out. Yet I feel humbled by his passion and desire to stick his neck out for Jesus. I am humbled by his exuberance. My heart breaks over his struggles. I can relate to them. I am even more humbled by his service.

God is so faithful to each of us. As I sit here in my home that God literally picked me up and placed me in, I long to be exactly where He wants me to be but I’m not always sure where that is.  Sometimes I think I know but it stirs up fear inside of me that causes a delay.

Fear is such an insidious thing.  It plays with our mind and our heart as long as we let it whisper all our insecurities and inadequacies in our ear.  We do not have to listen! Christ has already conquered the sin of this world.  He has already won the victory over our sin.  We have been made perfect again by His blood.  All we have to do is walk in the freedom that has already been given to us through His magnificent love. All we have to do is stop all the fearful chatter.  Shut it down. Turn it off.  When we stretch beyond our fear we make Satan out to be the liar that he is.  We demonstrate he has no authority in our life.

Father God, thank you for the gift of Your Son.  May I be so full of Your love that it shuts fear down and opens my heart wide to give and receive Your love.

Matthew 26:69-75, 1 John 4:18, John 3:16

Leave a Reply

