If You Could Read My Mind


“He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.” Mark 4:39 NIV

This scripture really resonated with me in a very affirming way.  Sometimes my mind is where the storm lies. My thoughts can begin to thrash and swirl about, spinning out of control.

In this scripture, Jesus scolded the wind and told it to quiet down.  So when my thoughts spiral out of control, I can say “Thoughts, quiet down and be still!” with all the authority that Jesus used to calm the stormy seas.  The authority in His name.

Sometimes it takes me a while to recognize the storm.  Storms come into our lives in different ways.  It is encouraging to know that in the name of Jesus, we can ask them all to quiet down and be still.

Father, give me the portion of faith that I need to calm any storm in my life in the name of Your precious Son, Jesus.

Galatians 5:25-26, Romans 4:5

Leave a Reply

