I Don’t Feel Like It


“And, but my righteous one will live by faith. And I take no pleasure in the one who shrinks back.” Hebrews 10:38 NIV

There are definitely times that I feel like pulling back.  I feel afraid, intimidated, tired, weak, or even rebellious.  You get the idea. But here’s the deal.  It’s not about my feelings.  I have to take all those feelings and lay them at the foot of the cross.  Not to ignore them because they are very real.  It is a battle that wages between my will and God’s will. When I can lay them at the cross, I can find righteousness in Christ.  In all my imperfection, I can find freedom.  Incredible freedom!  If I can let go of judgment, comparison and all those other things that make me focus on the negative, I can focus on all the positive attributes of God’s character that He has placed inside of me.  He made me in His image.  If I focus on those things, I am free.

When I walk in freedom I focus less on myself and my agenda.  I am able to look at the world full of wonder and curiosity about how God will use me to make contributions to others.  It is an unselfish orientation governed by His Word.

Father, thank you for placing Your character inside of me.  Help me yield as You cultivate it!

Ephesians 4:16, 6:12; Psalm 62:5-6, 2 Corinthians 8:5, Joshua 7:13

Leave a Reply

