Traps

Embed from Getty Images
12 “I, wisdom, dwell together with prudence; I possess knowledge and discretion. 13 To fear the Lord is to hate evil; I hate pride and arrogance, evil behavior and perverse speech. Proverbs 8:12-13 NIV

The Holy Spirit is a constant guide. He is full of wisdom, prudence, knowledge, discretion and discernment.  If we truly accept God in awe,  reverence, and respect, then we will defer to our guide.

The words that I keep wrestling with are “letting go.” Letting go of the familiar.  Letting go of my comfort. Letting go of my desire to do things my way. Letting go of my desire to manage an outcome.  Letting go of pride.  Letting go of unforgiveness.  Letting go of control. Letting go….

Have you ever seen an animal flailing in a trap? Either they have to chew a limb off (or die trying) or someone has to come along and release them. Some traps are more humane than others.  Sometimes an animal gets lucky and escapes to live another day.  Some are a part of a catch and release program.   God is the One who releases us from the traps of this world.  When I stop flailing around and accept God, it becomes peaceful again.  I have to accept that all my anxious spinning, churning, gnawing and clawing are all in vain unless I accept God’s help. Ways, in His power and wisdom protect us.

Thank you Father for the constant guidance of the Holy Spirit.  Help me to let go of any trap or distraction that leads me off the path that You have for me.

Proverbs 2:11, 26:20, 11:12-13; Lamentations 3:22-23

Leave a Reply

