Grace For The Humble


You who are younger in the faith: do as your elders and leaders ask. All of you should treat each other with humility, for as it says in Proverbs, God opposes the proud but offers grace to the humble. 1 Peter 5:5 The Voice

Sometimes I have to sit quietly in prayer.  Listening.  I have to just sit quietly and allow God to sort out my heart for me.  When I ask Him to search my heart, He does. It is a place of surrender.   Moments of healing, when I can feel His love washing over my heart.  Moments of conviction, as I read scripture I feel a snag in my heart that needs to be addressed – repentance, forgiveness, letting go of things I’m holding onto.

I have to ask for God’s help. I have to continually surrender pieces of my heart.  All I can say is that for me it has been a process; a process of letting go.  As I leave more and more things in God’s hands, He begins to remodel my heart. It begins to become more sensitive to the Holy Spirit.  It begins to soften.  Priorities begin to shift.

As I shed the baggage, it has been key to leave the past behind and not pick it up again. No guilt or shame.  Accepting the forgiveness that Christ has already given.  Each day is a new day; a fresh start. Eyes forward and holding fast to God’s ways and God’s promises.

Father, help me focus on moving forward in faith. Show me what that looks like through Your eyes. Help me wrap my head around Your ways. Teach me to walk in humility.

Galatians 6:9, Philippians 3:10-15, Proverbs 3:6, Isaiah 55:8

Leave a Reply

