Live In Truth

Embed from Getty Images
15-16 Instead, we will lovingly follow the truth at all times—speaking truly, dealing truly, living truly—and so become more and more in every way like Christ who is the Head of his body, the Church. Under his direction, the whole body is fitted together perfectly, and each part in its own special way helps the other parts, so that the whole body is healthy and growing and full of love. Ephesians 4:15-16 The Living Bible

When we speak the truth we become more and more like Christ.  Now, that doesn’t always mean that people want to hear the truth.  So in spite of that, we are to follow the truth, speak the truth, deal in truth and live in truth.  That’s a mouthful of some nutritious words!

I have had situations in my life when I did not speak the truth for a number of reasons. I may have been aware it was not what someone wanted to hear.  I was afraid of hurting someone’s feelings.  I was concerned about rejection. And I’m sure there are more situations with more reasons that I didn’t speak the truth.  I may have spoken a watered-down, diluted version of the truth.  But bottom line, when it became all watered-down, it wasn’t the same message.  It no longer had the clarity the truth would have had.

And then I can also get wrapped up in my head.  Well, it won’t hurt if I do “x” because it wouldn’t hurt anything, when in fact it changes the landscape significantly from what God had already purposed.  In that instance, I’m lying to myself.  I’m not telling myself the truth.  That is not living in the truth.

Follow. Speak. Deal. Live.  All in truth.  Keep it simple.

Father, I repent for not setting boundaries and stepping out of Your will. I know it’s time to be clear: set boundaries, be accountable and be truthful.  Help me to always do it from the right heart.

Ephesians 4:25, Zechariah 8:16, Jeremiah 18:20, Ephesians 5:29, Galatians 6:7

One thought on “Live In Truth

Leave a Reply

