Making Decisions


Better is a handful with quietness than both hands full with painful effort, a vain striving after the wind and a feeding on it. Ecclesiastes 4:6 AMP

I want to be wise and patient.  I want to be thoughtful and intentional, always watching for God and following Him. I have found that there are three things to consider before making decisions:

  • Gather facts – determine the realities of a situation. God will not ask us to enter into unrighteousness dealings (Jeremiah 22:13)
  • Let the Holy Spirit guide (Psalm 37:23)
  • Confirm your decision (2 Corinthians 13:1)

The confirmation piece can be challenging for me.  I do not want to run ahead.  I want to walk in faith according to God’s Word. So how do I know?

There is a distinction in my heart. My heart knows the difference. When self or pride grab hold of the reins, they try to muscle things; force things. Self and pride grab hold tightly, choking with control. When it is God, the Holy Spirit sweeps me along like a river current. Holy Spirit opens a path and puts a light on it.  The flow is open, not constricted. I can sense the difference between the dark and the light.

Take everything to prayer.  Pay attention to your heart. Do not look for more than is there.  Do not “imagine” things. Ask God the hard questions and then listen. Do not be puffed up or full of pride.  Keep your heart tender.  Watch for God and you will see Him.

Father God, help me to be wise and patient. Help me to be thoughtful and intentional, always watching for You.  Following You. Show me where and when to step. I pray I will not run ahead in pride. Help me patiently wait for You to clearly light each path.  Show me Your ways O Lord. Teach me.

Romans 12:15, Psalm 25:4

Leave a Reply

