Others

Embed from Getty Images
“He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.” Micah 6:8 NIV

Micah names three great acts of love for God and for each other that pave the way for a good relationship with God.  They are to:

  • Be righteous and fair with all people, regardless of their status in life
  • Show kindness willingly and freely to others
  • Live humbly in conscious fellowship of the greatness and sovereignty of God

These three actions glorify God and neutralize pride. As great and exalted a king as David was, he knew God’s purpose in all of it.  David was exalted for the sake of the people of Israel.  Unlike Saul, David did not lose sight of the bigger picture.  He did not become inflated in his ego, creating monuments to himself and patting himself on the back.  Even though he had his share of mistakes, David did not lose sight of the greatness and sovereignty of God. He knew that God had purposed his life for the sake of others.

I have to ask myself, have I recognized God’s bigger purpose? Or did I become puffed up and proud? Well, to be honest I have had some pride issues in my life.  I haven’t always been a Saul, but I haven’t always been a David either.  I haven’t always kept my eye on the bigger picture; the kingdom picture.  When we look at our lives through a kingdom perspective, it reminds us that we are here to serve others. It helps dissolve the pride and return all the glory to God where it belongs.

Father, help me keep my eyes on the horizon of Your purpose.  Not just on the present.  Help me to truly embrace that all good things come from You for a purpose.  Help me seek Your will and purpose in every good thing!

Numbers 17:1-11, James 3:13, 1 Chronicles 14:2

Leave a Reply

