Do Not Forget

Embed from Getty Images
10” When you have eaten and are satisfied, praise the Lord your God for the good land he has given you. 11 Be careful that you do not forget the Lord your God, failing to observe his commands, his laws and his decrees that I am giving you this day.” Deuteronomy 8:10-11 NIV

I have run across individuals from time to time that were hungry. They mistook me as what they were looking for. I may have been flattered by the attention in a codependent or prideful way.  From either perspective, it was off and not healthy.  They behaved as if they were starving for something: attention, approval, acceptance.  Something.  I didn’t see it at first, but eventually I did.

I was feeding them the wrong food!  I was never going to be enough.  Most of the time they were operating out of an emotional injury of some sort.  They were looking for healing. Something that would ease their pain. Over time I am learning to recognize it more quickly.  I am also learning not to engage. I am learning to sit back and cover them in prayer instead.

The major learning for me has been “less is more.”  It applies to everything and every area in my life.  It is very simple: do exactly what I sense the Holy Spirit is directing me to do – nothing more, nothing less. Walk without judging others or comparing. Love through God’s eyes and not my own. It sounds simple but sometimes it can be really hard!

The key to this simplicity is not forgetting.  Not forgetting who God is.  He is our Provider.  In Him we can be fed to satisfaction.  In Him we want for nothing.  So we praise Him for all that He is and all that He does.  We do not forget Him.

Father, I pray I remain thankful and humble toward You and the care that You provide. Let me not become proud of myself over things that You have done.  Help me be sensitive to those that are hungry and thirsty.  Help me be obedient to what You ask of me – quickly doing whatever you ask of me – nothing more, nothing less.

Deuteronomy 8:10-14, 18

Leave a Reply

