Yield

yield

“So he said to me, “This is the word of the Lord to Zerubbabel: ‘Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,’ says the Lord Almighty.” Zechariah 4:6 NIV

Faith based on anything but God is heresy. Even faith in faith. What I mean is this: faith in hard work and diligence rather than obedience to God’s Spirit.  Be wary of anything that puts the burden of performance on you rather than God. Be willing to yield to the Holy Spirit.

So I had to ask myself the hard question, “How much am I truly yielded to the Holy Spirit?” Am I truly stepping out in faith, or cowering in fear? Fear of what others think. Fear of what things look like to others. If I am fearful, then how can I experience God’s love and share it with others?

Fear causes us to hold on tightly to things and elevate their level of importance. So where do I hold on too tightly?  I could see pride coming into play.  That feeling as if I have control.  Yep, there it was, control…which ties back to pride, fear, lack of trust. It kind of made me sick to my stomach.

When I step back, I am amazed at the grace, mercy, and favor of God. As I struggle with balancing trust and dependence on Him, walking in faith and obedience, He continues to defy circumstances. When I think I am in control and circumstances turn ugly, I interpret them as punishment and look for what I did wrong.  But when I let go and trust everything to God, circumstances are simply circumstances.  Just like God’s favor isn’t based on my performance, circumstances aren’t either. Even if I mess up, nothing is too big for God. He is always there to teach me.  I am constantly learning. I have to continue to trust God knowing that as He teaches me He is also being gentle with my heart.

Father, I repent for my lack of faith in You. I’m sorry for hanging onto those old ways. Thank you for creating me in Your image to do Your work that You have prepared in advance for me to do.

Acts 7:48-53, Ephesians 2:1-10

bg-blogger-badge-500x500

Leave a Reply

