Change Your Mind

Embed from Getty Images
“Now change your mind and attitude to God and turn to him so he can cleanse away your sins and send you wonderful times of refreshment from the presence of the Lord…” Acts 3:19 Living Bible (TLB)

God places us carefully where we need to be. Sometimes it is to work something out of us.  Sometimes it is to work something into us. Sometimes it is simply to fulfill a purpose. In every case we have a choice. We can either turn our heart to God or away from God.  It can look a lot of different ways.  Maybe we are working hard at doing everything ourselves without expressly listening for direction.  Maybe we think we know the best way to get things done. Maybe we think we see a situation that is spinning out of control and we need to step in to give it order and get things back under control. But who really control it?  Food for thought.

When we turn our heart to God it is a type of worship. We surrender our heart to Him, trusting He will make it right.  We recognize the magnitude of who He is. We trust that He and He alone can give our heart the refreshment that it needs.

Speaking for myself, there are times that I go to God in prayer stating the obvious.  I know I’m not in great shape. So I just lay it all out there for us to discuss together. I know I need a change of mind. I have found that my change of mind follows a change of heart.  By acknowledging in a very real way where I am at a given moment (no matter how ugly it may be), it allows God to take hold of my heart and turn it around. Turn it toward Him. The ugly stuff I may be carrying around goes away when I release it to Him.  I continue this process no matter how many times it takes.

Eventually, the change sticks in my heart.  The refreshing stays. I have a change of mind that goes with it.

Lord, thank you for dealing with my heart. Turning it toward You. Thank you for the refreshment You bring. Thank you for Your help, strength, and wisdom in all things. I pray that I receive every good thing that You have for me. You know better than I do if and when I need it! I praise Your Holy Name, Jehovah El!

Acts 3, 2 Corinthians 9:8, Deuteronomy 8:18

bg-blogger-badge-500x500

Leave a Reply

