Love+Obedience=Joy

Embed from Getty Images
“But let all who take refuge in you be glad; let them ever sing for joy. Spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may rejoice in you.” Psalm 5:11 NIV

The more time I spend in prayer and the more I read the Bible, the more I realize how it all boils down to our heart. It is dependent on how authentic we are in our communication with God. There are days that my heart can feel like a filthy rag. I’m not walking where I want or need to be.  I need help. I feel off so I ask Father God to simply bear with me. And I give thanks.

I am not perfect. I am so not perfect that a lot of times I don’t even realize when I’m in the middle of it. Sometimes I am reflecting after something has happened and I have the insight of, “Wow, I could have done that differently. That could have gone better.” I’m getting more comfortable with owning that feeling. I’m trying to own it without the shame and guilt hangover. Shame and guilt do a lot of damage – but that is another topic!

Owning and accepting my imperfection helps me reorient more quickly. Daily. It shifts my perspective. It embraces the gift of Jesus. It diffuses performance. It invites grace and mercy. It gives me Peace. It reminds me that God’s ways are really different from mine. In order to be open to God’s ways, I have to let go of mine. I have to stop hesitating because something doesn’t make sense to me. I have to TRUST.

Father, thank you for being my fortress. You fill me with such love and peace and joy that I want to follow Your every Word.  It is in Your arms that I take refuge and sing with joy.  My great Jehovah!

Proverbs 3:5-6, John 14:16-17, 26-27, 30-31

bg-blogger-badge-500x500

 

Leave a Reply

