Charge On!


“ I’m not there yet, nor have I become perfect; but I am charging on to gain anything and everything the Anointed One, Jesus, has in store for me—and nothing will stand in my way because He has grabbed me and won’t let me go.” Philippians 3:12 The Voice

When I think of Paul, I can’t help but think of a high performing athlete.  His stories are the stories of a spiritual Olympic athlete.  I love how he worded this scripture.  He does not even take credit for holding onto God. He recognizes how tightly God holds onto him! I love that.  God is holding on tightly to us too. That is what enables us to charge forward.  Running toward the end zone in anticipation of what He has for us.

I am picturing a football player, specifically the quarterback.  He has the football in hand, charging toward the goal line.  What would it look like if he was timid? Or got distracted along the way?  The clarity of direction and the path to get there is foremost in his mind.  He is intensely focused on the touch down.

So God has handed us the proverbial football.  And He has empowered us to run with it!

Paul not only was focused on a spiritual goal line. He was also very focused on the conditioning required to go racing down the field facing opponents and obstacles along the way.

I am reminded that I need to make sure that I am conditioned as well.  Focused. Not timid. I am to charge forward!

Salvation is the ball that God has placed in my hand.  He is the most incredible guard blocking and tackling to protect me as I run charging forward. He is the one making a way for me.  I have to watch for the opening, stay on task and hand off the ball when needed to another player to move it forward.

Even Jesus reminded us that we play different roles at different times. We just have to pay attention to His playbook! Recognizing His moves and memorizing the plays in His playbook and conditioning ourselves with His diet and exercise as Christians. The benefits of that conditioning are the fruits of the Spirit: love, joy, peace, long suffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. There is no law against them.  We can feel confident charging forward!

Father, help me be a spiritual Heisman winner! Instill in me the discipline and conditioning to be able to charge forward with the strength, courage, confidence, focus and intensity that You ask of me.  Help me to always trust and be mindful that You are my right and left guard.  You block and tackle for me at every turn.  Thank you! Keep my eyes on You and the goal line!

Matthew 13, Galatians 5:22-23

bg-blogger-badge-500x500

Leave a Reply

