There Was A Time…


2”Don’t tear down another person with your words. Instead, keep the peace, and be considerate. Be truly humble toward everyone because there was a time when we, too, were foolish, rebellious, and deceived—we were slaves to sensual cravings and pleasures; and we spent our lives being spiteful, envious, hated by many, and hating one another.  But then something happened: God our Savior and His overpowering love and kindness for humankind entered our world;” Titus 3:2-4 The Voice

The church was designed to be one; one body in Jesus Christ.  The only way to accomplish that is to press to be more like Jesus in every way. Jesus has such a beautiful way of meeting us exactly where we are.  We are all invited to come to Him.  It is a ”just as you are” party with an open invitation.  The acceptance is universal.  It is through the acceptance of the love of Jesus that we come to a different place.  It is where we are transformed.

None of us are the same.  Day to day we change. We make choices.  Are we choosing to be more like Jesus? Are we using the lens of the fruit of the spirit? Are we able to release our fleshly desires to manipulate, manage and control? Perform? Judge? Compare? Are we able to release our insecurities and trust that Jesus loves us just as we are and that He knows everything? We don’t. Can we really and truly rest in this truth?

I ask these questions of myself. Sometimes the answer is “yes!” and sometimes I struggle. But the filter of the word of God makes things crystal clear.  I don’t have to prove anything. I don’t have to perform.  As a matter of fact, sometimes the less I do the better.

The good news is that we can learn how to walk in faith.  The Holy Spirit will teach us. If we can grab hold of even the tiniest portion it will make a huge difference! It will bridge our next step to grow and become more like Jesus.  We can know full well that someday we will see Jesus face to face.

In that moment that we realize His amazing love, I just wonder what that will feel like. It is because of that love that I want to discard any reservation that I have in the choices I make today.  I truly want to walk in the fullness of that love right here, right now.  I want my faith to embrace that knowledge and be able to be a living example.

As I embrace that love more, I believe it is easier to accept others where they are as well. I will be able to be an encouragement rather than behave like the Sanhedrin.  I will remember where I came from and recognize the journey and accept that we all have one.  Instead of taking ownership of someone else’s journey, I will be able to simply take ownership of my own.  And still be able to encourage others along their journey…one step at a time. And I believe that it is in our individual journeys, as we embrace the journey in its fullness and joy, we become full as a body.

Father, thank you for accepting me just as I am with Your life-changing Love.

Titus 1:15, 2:12; 1 Corinthians 13:12-13, Ephesians 3:19

bg-blogger-badge-500x500

2 thoughts on “There Was A Time…

Leave a Reply

