Humility Means Letting Go

Embed from Getty Images

1As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received. Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.” Ephesians 4:1-3 NIV

I have found that my tendency toward self-sufficiency has been an obstacle to embracing humility. It caused me to hold on to things that I should have surrendered to God.  Those old habits had to be taken to God in prayer daily. It was easiest to start with those things that were precious to me or hard for me.  They were things I could only trust with God.  What I have come to understand is that everything is like that.  He wants it all – every detail, every jot and tittle.  He wants us to depend on Him totally.  That has simplified my life significantly. This simplicity is refreshing and light.  It makes life a joy.

Father, thank you for keeping things light and simple.  Thank you for always being there and accepting whatever I lay before You.  Thank you for Your undying love for me!

Psalm 149:4, Proverbs 15:33, Romans 8:28, Galatians 5:22, Ephesians 4:12-14, Matthew 10:29, Luke 12:7

bg-blogger-badge-500x500

4 thoughts on “Humility Means Letting Go

Leave a Reply

