Tough Love

tough love2

“For with you is the fountain of life; in your light we see light.” Psalm 36:9 NIV

When I feel like I don’t know anything, God is the one thing that is true and constant.  Even during seasons of my life when I know there is a stripping going on of everything that is familiar to me – seasons of change. During those times it is critical for me to seek the Presence of God.  Stay in His life-giving love light.

We are made in God’s image.  He is not a sissy.  Jesus was God’s human image here on earth.  He was not a sissy.  Why do we think that as Christians we are off the hook?  We can’t be sissies either.  So here’s a new twist on God’s love.  God’s love is so pure that it is like acid.  It will literally melt away darkness.  For a visual, I sometimes go to that scene in the Wizard of Oz when the witch is melting from the bucket of water that was thrown on her.  Picture God’s love as Living Water.  It will not tolerate prejudice, injustice, mockery, spite, judging or comparison.  That is how powerful God’s love is.  It melts the darkness away.

As I yearn to love like God, it’s encouraging to know the power that brings.  It brings light into the darkness like nothing else can.  Now that my friend is tough love!

Lord, teach me to more fully appreciate Your power and might.

1 Peter 5:6-7, 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18, 2 Chronicles 6:14-42

bg-blogger-badge-500x500

Leave a Reply

