A Little While…

Embed from Getty Images

Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings. 10 And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. 1 Peter 5:8-10 NIV

What is a little while? This scripture says that after we have suffered “a little while” Christ will restore us and make us strong.  Whew! I am thankful for that.  However, am I able to withstand suffering for a little while?

Sometimes it is easier to get through things if there is a goal in mind.  Saving for a big vacation or a new car. Saving for a life event like college or a wedding.  The process of saving requires choices, decisions and sometimes sacrifice.  Suffering.  Not having everything you want when you want it.  Delayed gratification.  We are not used to that in this day and age.  We’ve become a right now culture at all costs.  Do we understand what it means to wait or delay for the perfect timing?  Is that why the word “suffering” is such a turn off?

To suffer can mean to be in pain.  But it can also mean to endure or permit.  Can we endure and permit delays and wait for God’s timing? To wait for God’s best for us?

I ask myself these questions all the time.  I find that when I am feeling rushed into making decisions or choices that it gives me pause.  Pause to pray and take God’s plans into consideration above my own.  Sometimes, even frequently, the decision or choice I was in such a rush about starts to fade in importance…And I wait.

Lord, remind me to pause and not allow things to rush me.  Help me to remember that Your pause brings peace and perspective.

2 Corinthians 4:16-18, 1 Peter 1:3-9

bg-blogger-badge-500x500

Leave a Reply

