Swimming Against The Current

swimming against the current

21 Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails. Proverbs 19:21 NIV

Have you ever been swimming against the current? I am not a very strong swimmer. I have had several near death experiences with water that have given me a healthy respect for it.

I know what it feels like to glide along with the current.  It feels effortless, even graceful.  All is peaceful and beautiful…until you have to make your way back! Then it becomes a whole different story.  It can be frightening. Exhausting. It is a fight with every stroke. If you let up, you get battered and set back more than you think you can make up.

There have been times in my life and career when I felt this kind of struggle.  At the time, I wasn’t aware enough to pull up and see that I was swimming against God’s plan and purpose for me. God patiently waited for me to wear myself out.  And it happened.  I fought a hard fight…needlessly.  I could have followed His plan and purpose and let His current carry me along.  Eventually I got there, but wow was I tired when I finally stopped fighting!

Father thank you for Your patience.  Thank you for Your love and Your grace and Your mercy.  You are so gentle and kind even when I’m not.  Thank you.  Thank you for never giving up on me and never leaving me or forsaking me…even when I’m swimming against the current.

Proverbs 19:20-22, Luke 1:79

bg-blogger-badge-500x500

Leave a Reply

