If We Walk In The Light

iff we walk in the light

“But if we walk in the light, as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, His Son, purifies us from all sin.” 1 John 1:7 NIV

Gossip and divisiveness do not thrive out in the open.  Rejection can get all twisted inside us so that it comes out sideways through insecurity, comparison, gossip and divisiveness.  If we carry around the expectation that we are going to be rejected, it’s a short walk to rejecting others first and saving yourself the pain.  It can create a very ugly downward spiral.

Over the years, I have been on the receiving end of painful injury of spoken words.  Unfortunately, I have delivered a few shots on occasion myself.  I now recognize how it feeds something so unhealthy that I have really lost a taste for it.  The following has become a good rule of thumb for me: If something has to be spoken in secret, there is a good chance it should not be spoken at all.

If I can bask in the light of Jesus, it warms and heals my heart in ways nothing else can.  It allows me to set aside injuries with forgiveness.  It allows me to have compassion and seek understanding.  It places a pause on reactivity because pride is not attached to the outcome.  His light purifies me.

Lord, thank you for Your purifying light inside of me.

Psalm 56:13, 1 John 2:9-11, 1 John 1:3, John 8:12

bg-blogger-badge-500x500

Leave a Reply

