Humble Me

humble me

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.” 1 Peter 5:6 NIV

Pride has been an issue for me. This verse caught my eye because if I am prideful, I have already lifted myself up.  I have not surrendered everything to God so that He can lift me up in His timing.  Pride makes me get in a hurry to do things my own way.  Pride makes me think that I know the best way.  Pride throws patience to the curb and says “See you later, sucker!”

Pride forces its way into situations and circumstances with an expectation of entitlement.  Humility is graceful and waits patiently offering to serve others in the meantime.  Pride is rude and rash.  Humility is gentle and kind. Pride takes what is mine first.  Humility honors others first. Pride is legalistic.  Humility hears the cry of the needy.

Father, help me surrender and submit to you in every way. Let humility govern my heart.

2 Chronicles 12:6-8, Proverbs 29:23, Luke 14:11, Romans 5:6-8

bg-blogger-badge-500x500

One thought on “Humble Me

Leave a Reply

