Changing Direction

change direction

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” Ephesians 4:29 NIV

I had an experience recently that really tried my patience on this front.  I won’t mention the company but after 8 hours of phone time in two days, I had to throw in the towel.  The angst and disruption that it caused was just not worth it.  In the middle of it all I had the realization that I had a choice.  I could simply change direction.  No one was holding me captive.  All I had to do was walk away.  So I did.

As I read this scripture, I did feel compelled to go back and read the feedback that I had provided.  It made me feel good to see that it was not emotionally loaded.  It was not defamatory.  It was authentic feedback regarding a very poor service experience.  I do hope that the feedback benefits the organization in some way.

The wonderful thing is that simply letting go felt wonderful! There was no lingering emotional hangover.  No lingering bitterness or anger.  It was simply a release.

Father, guard my mouth.  Let my words be true and let no unwholesome talk come out of my mouth.  Let me speak what is helpful for building others up according to their needs.

Romans 8:39, 1 Thessalonians 5:19-24, Ephesians 4:30-32

bg-blogger-badge-500x500

Leave a Reply

