Keep It Simple

keep it simple

16” Rejoice always, 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. 19 Do not quench the Spirit. 20 Do not treat prophecies with contempt 21 but test them all; hold on to what is good,22 reject every kind of evil.”  1 Thessalonians 5:16-22 NIV

Rejoice always: Our joy is full in God

Pray continuously: The more we pray, the more we are able to rejoice!

Give thanks in all circumstances: If we pray without ceasing, there will not be a shortage of thanksgiving

Do not quench the Spirit: Be mindful. Carnal lusts and affections and earthly things extinguish the voice of the Holy Spirit in our lives.

Do not treat prophecies with contempt: We are to value the preaching, interpretation and application of God’s Word in our lives.

Test them all: We must not believe everything.  We must be settled in God’s Word and hold fast to it.

Reject every kind of evil: Others will see the Truth in us if we maintain integrity and a pure heart.

Father God, search my heart. I repent for my hesitancy to step out in faith. Thank you for every perfect thing that You place in my path. Thank you for Your faithfulness. Thank you for Your grace and Your mercy. Thank you for Your patience with me as I learn to let go of more and more.  Thank you for stretching me and preparing me, Father. Thank you for trusting me. Holy Spirit, be my guide. Be my love. Be my bright light in the darkness.

Psalm 26:2-3, Proverbs 2:11, Proverbs 4:23, Philippians 2:15, Philippians 4:8

bg-blogger-badge-500x500

Leave a Reply

